twitter google-plus feed2 chevron

Match Referee Didn’t Know Brock Lesnar Would Beat Undertaker, More Match Details

– It wasn’t only people backstage unaware of the Brock Lesnar vs. Undertaker match finish, the referee for the match, Chad Patton, didn’t know the end result either.

Apparently, Patton was informed the Undertaker would win ahead of the match but complied with the rule given to all WWE referees – go ahead and finish the three count if a wrestler does not kick out as if it were exactly what was planned.

As the story goes, following the three count and victory, Lesnar privately whispered “thank you” to the Undertaker to express his gratitude for the honor of being the man to break the Streak.

Credit – Wrestling Observer Newsletter

  • Joseph F

    I don’t believe this. I don’t believe they’d be stupid enough to not let the referee in on the outcome of a match this important. What if he’d froze up and stopped counting when Undertaker didn’t kick out? Even if they are told to go ahead and count anyway if the wrestler doesn’t kick out, I still don’t see it happening in this situation. Who would want to be the referee responsible for ending the streak when it wasn’t supposed to end?

  • Dustin

    Paging Wes Adams.

  • Dan

    I think there was a Survivor Series tag match a while back where Justin Hawk Bradshaw was meant to be the sole survivor and get his first push. But though he kicked out, the ref counted a pin on him and he was eliminated. Can’t remember but I think the ref realised he’d messed up and then sort of had to improvise and pretend he was sending him to the back while he was actually apologising.

  • Claud3Giroux

    I completely agree. Somebody give me another example where this has happened in wrestling’s past. I have never heard of a referee doing this at any point in time. They are always in the know when it comes to count three or stop at two, one, etc.

  • d_pooch

    “kick account” LOL

    I find it kind of hard to believe considering referees pull their hands up at the last possible second, which tells me either Taker or Lesnar had to clue him in at some point.