twitter google-plus feed2 chevron

Nick’s Quick Wits-10 Years Ago, It All Began…Again

For this article, I’ve decided to do a reflection on Wrestlemania XX. The event took place 10 years ago and was promoted under the tagline, “Where it all begins, again.” It was a huge event and a lot has changed since then. I will reflect on the participants involved in each match and how things are going for some of them now, and how the business as a whole has changed.


John Cena defeated The Big Show to win the United States Title, his first title in WWE
Today-John Cena is the most popular superstar in the company and will face Bray Wyatt this year. Big Show is still active and will probably be in and win the Andre the GIant memorial battle royal.

Booker T and Rob Van Dam defeated Garrison Cade and Mark Jindrak, La Resistance, and The Dudley’s to retain the World Tag Team titles.
Today-Booker T was inducted into the WWE Hall of Fame last year, RVD returned part-time last year and may do so again in the near future. Cade, unfortunately, passed away in 2010, Jindrak was released in 2005 and still wrestles on the independent circuit. La Resistance members Rene Dupree and Robert Conway were released in 2007 and still wrestle independently. The Dudley’s left WWE in 2005 and then went to TNA, where Bubba Ray become Bully Ray and eventually won the TNA World Title.

Christian defeated Chris Jericho
Today-Christian is still in the WWE and may be leaving soon. I see him either facing Sheamus or being in the battle royal this year. Chris Jericho returns part-time every once and a while and continues to tour with his band Fozzy.

Randy Orton, Batista, and Ric Flair defeated The Rock and Mick Foley
Today-Orton is the current WWE World Heavyweight Champion and will face Batista and possibly Daniel Bryan this year. Flair retired in 2008 and is currently contracted for special appearances. The Rock is a leading man in Hollywood and returned to win the WWE Title last year to lose to Cena in what is currently his last match to date. Foley is now retired and was inducted into the Hall of Fame last year.

Torrie Wilson and Sable defeated Stacy Keibler and MIss Jackie in a Playboy evening gown match
Today-Torrie left in 2008 and is now dating Yankees third baseman Alex Rodriguez. Sable left in 2004 and has since married Brock Lesnar. Keibler left in 2006 and was romantically linked to George Clooney for years and made several acting appearances on various programs. Miss Jackie left WWE in 2005 and has since married Charlie Haas, the couple have four children.

Chavo Guerrero won a cruiserweight open to retain the Cruiserweight Championship.
Today-Rey Mysterio is the only member of this match still on the roster. He will probably be in the battle royal this year. All others in the this match left and wrestled for other promotions since.

Goldberg defeated Brock Lesnar in the infamous match that is remember for being horrible, but with a memorable negative crowd reaction.
Today-Goldberg left WWE after this match and hasn’t wrestled since. Lesnar is facing The Undertaker this year.

Too Cool defeated Shelton Benjamin and Charlie Haas, The Bashams and the APA to retain the WWE Tag Team Titles.
Today-Rikishi and Scotty 2 Hotty recently returned for one night only to team with Grand Master Sexay, reuniting Too Cool. Rikishi’s sons The Uso’s are the current WWE Tag Team Champions. Benjamin and Haas split up afterwards and now wrestle independently. The Bashams eventually joined JBL’s cabinet before being released not long afterwards. The APA split up as a team afterwards. JBL is currently a commentator and Faarooq inducted into the Hall of Fame in 2012.

Victoria defeated Molly Holly to retain the Women’s Championship.
Today-Victoria left WWE in 2009, joined TNA and now wrestles independently. Holly left in 2005 and made a few one-time appearances since.

Eddie Guerrero defeated Kurt Angle to retain the WWE Championship.
Today-Unfortunately, Eddie Guerrero passed away in November 2005, he was inducted into the Hall of Fame in 2006. Angle left WWE in 2006 and is still wrestling in TNA.

The Undertaker defeated Kane to go 12-0.
Today-The Undertaker will face Brock Lesnar and attempted to go 22-0 at Wrestlemania. Kane is still with WWE, I see him being in the battle royal.

Chris Benoit defeated Triple H and Shawn Michaels to win the World Heavyweight Championship.
Today-Triple H is COO of WWE and will face Daniel Bryan this year. Michaels retired in 2010 and was inducted into the Hall of Fame in 2011. Benoit life ended in 2007 in a unspeakable tragedy, tarnishing his name and ruining the emotional ending of this event and would still be talked about today had said tragedy not occured.


The WWE has changed since then. It now broadcasts in HD, has a PG ratings and just launched it’s own network where you can watch only pay-per-view, such as this one, and a variety of other programs. Up to 10 superstars who wrestled at Wrestlemania XX are either already booked in, or may possibly be booked in a match this year at Wrestlemania XXX. What is in store for the WWE in the next ten years, only time will tell.

Until next time, reflect on the past while enjoying the future,