The Universal Title Match at the Greatest Royal Rumble ended in a confusing way as Brock Lesnar retained the championship in controversial fashion.
Lesnar fought Roman Reigns in a Steel Cage Match for the championship, and many assumed this would be the moment that Reigns would finally take the belt. However, when Reigns speared Lesnar through the cage, the referee, Chad Patton, declared Lesnar the winner.
Fans around the world were confused, as Reigns rolled off of the cage first. Patton took to Twitter today to address the situation.
I understand i made an incorrect decision & want to apologize. During the #UniversalTitle match at #WWEGRR, i saw Brock Lesnar go thru the cage first and was concerned for the health and safety of both superstars.
— chad patton (@chadpattonwwe) April 30, 2018
So Patton has admitted to making the wrong decision on Friday night. Does that mean that Reigns could be given another shot at the title? It’s assumed that Lesnar won’t be back until Money In The Bank, and Reigns has a match with Samoa Joe at Backlash, so if the two were to fight again, it wouldn’t be for some time.
Do you want to see this story continue? Let us know in the comments.