twitter google-plus feed2 chevron
×

Referee for Universal Title Match apologizes for incorrect decision

Brock Lesnar Greatest Royal Rumble

The Universal Title Match at the Greatest Royal Rumble ended in a confusing way as Brock Lesnar retained the championship in controversial fashion.

Lesnar fought Roman Reigns in a Steel Cage Match for the championship, and many assumed this would be the moment that Reigns would finally take the belt. However, when Reigns speared Lesnar through the cage, the referee, Chad Patton, declared Lesnar the winner.

Fans around the world were confused, as Reigns rolled off of the cage first. Patton took to Twitter today to address the situation.

So Patton has admitted to making the wrong decision on Friday night. Does that mean that Reigns could be given another shot at the title? It’s assumed that Lesnar won’t be back until Money In The Bank, and Reigns has a match with Samoa Joe at Backlash, so if the two were to fight again, it wouldn’t be for some time.

Do you want to see this story continue? Let us know in the comments.


  • Soulshroude

    COP-OUT! At least the ref admitted his own fault. BUT, there needs to be a rematch before Money In The Bank. NOT a match to decide who’s against Brock next. Take that damned silver spoon out of Brock’s mouth, already!

  • Darrin Tyler

    How is it confusing? Roman won. They just refuse to give him the belt.

  • Kayfabe_Is_Dead

    Time to move on from this

  • StocktonJoe

    Do I want to see another Reigns vs Lesnar match? Gawd, N0!!! I want them both to just go away.