twitter google-plus feed2 chevron
×

Was the finish of Universal Championship match botched?

Brock Lesnar Greatest Royal Rumble

Unlike their last encounter at WrestleMania 34, the finish of the Universal Championship match between Brock Lesnar and Roman Reigns at Greatest Royal Rumble was not clean.

The match ended with Roman putting Brock through the cage. This resulted in the cage wall coming crashing down and both the superstars were thrown outside of the ring.

After this referee made the call that Brock Lesnar’s back hit the ground first so he won the match while Roman Reigns’ feet were clearly the first to come in the contact with the ground, and this finish has been a hot topic of discussion ever since.

Dave Meltzer of the Wrestling Observer talked about this bout recently and he speculated that the finish of this championship rematch was botched.

However, at the same time, Pwinsider is reporting that everything went according to the plan, which has torn people into two groups with some believing that the finish was botched while others think it was just a way to start a discussion.

Do you think the finish of the Universal Championship match was botched? Let us know your thoughts in the comment section.


  • Yespage

    The match ending was ‘botched’. It gives Reigns cover for not winning title and Lesnar not having to lose the strap.

  • CC

    Strictly speaking, nobody touched the ground first as they were both still on the cage side.
    Yes, it has holes in it, but if people wanna be pedantic about back vs feet, you might as well be pedantic about that.
    Fact is, Lesnar was first out of the cage and WWE has always played fast and loose with wrestling “rules”.
    I mean, how else does someone like Big Show get away with a closed fist hit as a finisher for so long? It was only when people started calling them on it, that they made it legal.

  • MindTricked

    The finish pissed me off so much. The match was okay, I guess – didn’t expect much, didn’t get much – and the spear through the cage was nice… but the “rules” clearly state that both feet on the ground = winner, and that CLEARLY didn’t happen, or Reigns would have won. Ugh.

  • Rajah

    The more they slowed it down for the replays the clearer they were.

  • Czar Ron A

    you could see the zip tiles fly off the cage.