Home » WWE Results » WWE Capitol Punishment: US Title Match
WWE Results

WWE Capitol Punishment: US Title Match

by Staff - Jun 19, 2011

- Tonight’s WWE Capitol Punishment pay-per-view opens up with a nice video package for the R-Truth vs. John Cena main event. We go to the arena and we’re live from Washington, DC.

WWE United States Title Match: Dolph Ziggler vs. Kofi Kingston

Out first comes the WWE United States Champion Kofi Kingston to kick off the show. Vickie Guerrero escorts Dolph Ziggler to the ring next and we’re ready to go.

The bell rings and they go at it. Lots of back and forth action to start. They eventually go to the corner. Kofi catapults Dolph out. He goes for Trouble in Paradise but Dolph ducks and turns it around. Dolph with a big leg drop and a 2 count. More back and forth. Dolph hits a dropkick and another 2 count. Dolph applies a submission from behind. Kofi breaks out and rolls Dolph up for 2.

More counters, Kofi with another 2 count. Dolph applies a sleeper hold but Kofi breaks out of it. Dolph goes for a splash in the corner but Kofi moves. Lots of back and forth action. Kofi with a big axe handle from the top for a 2 count. Kofi misses Trouble in Paradise. Dolph catches him for a powerbomb but Kofi hits SOS. Dolph kicks out at 2.

More pin attempts from both men. Dolph goes for Zig Zag but misses. Kofi with a big leap and another 2 count. Kofi goes up top but Dolph meets him and knocks him down. Dolph climbs up top and goes for a superplex but Kofi drops him on his face. Kofi with a high crossbody and another 2 count. Dolph blocks SOS again and Dolph applies a sleeper. Kofi blocks it and slams Kofi into the corner. Kofi misses Trouble in Paradise again. Dolph misses Zig Zag and distracts the referee. Vickie interferes and attacks Kofi. Dolph takes advantage and puts the sleeper hold on tight on the mat. Kofi passes out while in the sleeper to end the match, after Dolph used the bottom rope for leverage.

Winner and New WWE United States Champion: Dolph Ziggler

  • bonerjams

    then again he had the belt before and it didnt work then
    it all depends on the writers but dolph ziggler himself
    is more than fully capable to main event.

  • Stevie P

    Yes! Now that you have the belt Dolph, make this title worth something again!!!

Latest News

Newsletter

The Hottest WWE news, photos and videos delivered to your inbox in one convenient newsletter. Sign up now and give it a try!

loading