July 24th – WWE Signs DiBiase Jr.

Source: PWInsider



1956 – Jesse James defeats Frank Jares for the NWA Southern Junior Heavyweight Title in Nashville, Tennessee, ending Jares’ second reign and starting his own second run with the belt.

1970 – Nick Bockwinkel defeats Paul DeMarco for the NWA Georgia Heavyweight Title in Atlanta
, ending DeMarco’s fourth run with the title, and starting Bockwinkel’s second reign.

1980 – Les Thornton enters WWC and is billed as the WWC World Junior Heavyweight Champion, reactivating a title that had not been used since Dick Steinborn held it in 1960.

1982 – Carlos Colon defeats Abdullah The Butcher for the WWC World Heavyweight Title (later to become the WWC Universal Title) in San Juan, Puerto Rico. This was the first time the title ever changed hands, as Abdullah had been recognized as the champion since entering the company. On the same show, The Moondogs (Rex & Spot) defeating Invader I & Pierre Martel for the WWC World Tag Team Title.

1983 – Magnum T.A. & Hacksaw Duggan defeat Ted DiBiase & Mr. Olympis for the Mid South Tag Team Title in Tulsa, Oklahoma.

1996 – Ace Darling & Devon Storm defeat The Public Enemy in Worcester, Massachusetts for the NWA New England Tag Team Title.

1999 – Kurt Angle defeats J.R. Smooth in Memphis, Tennessee, for the Memphis Power Pro Wrestling Heavyweight Title, the first professional wrestling championship ever won by the Olympic gold medallist.

2000 – Lance Storm defeats Big Vito in Cleveland, Ohio for the WCW Hardcore Championship.

2007 – World Wrestling Entertainment signes Ted DiBiase Jr. to a developmental deal and sends him to Florida Championship Wrestling in Tampa, Florida. DiBiase Jr., who had just completed a tour with Pro Wrestling NOAH in Japan, was trained by Harley Race’s school and is the son of “Million Dollar Man” Ted DiBiase and the grandson of “Iron” Mike DiBiase and Helen Hild.

Related Articles

Latest Articles