twitter google-plus feed2 chevron

Original winners for the Royal Rumble revealed

The Royal Rumble was quite the spectacle and by the time the night was over, everyone had a great time.

The Women’s Royal Rumble was won by The Queen Charlotte Flair while Drew McIntyre won the Men’s Rumble. However, as it turns out, new reports suggest that this wasn’t always supposed to be the case.

On the latest episode of Wrestling Observer Radio, Dave Meltzer reports that the original winners for the Rumble were different for both the divisions and that plans changed very recently.

Meltzer reveals that Shayna Baszler and Roman Reigns were booked to win both their Rumbles respectively. He also went on to say that the plans for Charlotte and Drew to go over were made somewhere around January 14th, due to the changing of the betting odds in Baszler’s favor.

Do you think that the Superstars originally booked to win the Rumble should have gone over? Feel free to let us know in the comments!


  • CC

    Exactly. He has zero proof to back this story up, yet because it is him way too many people believe this stuff.

    I could say the original plans were for Kelly Kelly and MVP to win the Rumbles, and it would be as true as anything Meltzer says on this, and would have just as much proof to back it up.

  • CC

    No proof of this. Will take it with a typical pinch of Meltzer salt.

  • Whistling Joe

    So because Vegas knew how logical story telling works, Vince decided to swerve us? And that says everything you need to know about what’s wrong with WWE booking right now. For the record, I didn’t want Reigns to win, but he is clearly going against Fiend at Mania so it was either he wins the Rumble now or he wins Elimination Chamber and gets his match that way. Don’t be fooled, Vince still thinks the fans will accept Reigns as THE guy.

  • Keith Learmonth

    Classic Meltzer.

  • R.T. Red

    Another case of Meltzer covering up that he was wrong with another rumor. He always has a story saying something changed last second.

  • Sparti Love

    So it was either a man we don’t want to win, Reigns or a woman we don’t want to win, Flair.. got it.. I would had preferred the third option of McIntyre and Baszler

  • Kristopher Robinson

    If Reigns would have won, the internet would have exploded. Just let the guy build himself up naturally. I’m surprised Flair didnt get booed out of the building.