September 5th – The Enforcers Win WCW Gold

Source: PWInsider



1968 – Bob Geigel & Bob Brown defeat Ron Etchison & Sonny Myers in Kansas City, Kansas to win the NWA North American Tag Team Title.

1973 – Terry & Ron Garvin defeat Tojo Yamamoto & Johnny Marlin in Nashville, Tennessee to win the NWA Mid-America Tag Team Title.

1979 – Mike George defeats Mr. Wrestling II in Shreveport, Louisiana to win the Mid-South Wrestling Association North American Heavyweight Title.

1983 – World Class Championship Wrestling holds their first Labor Day Weekend ‘Star Wars’ event in Ft. Worth, Texas. Here are the results:
– Iceman Parsons defeated Buddy Roberts.
– Bruiser Brody defeated Kamala via disqualification in a Lumberjack match.
– Kerry Von Erich defeated Michael Hayes in a Country Whipping match.
– Kevin Von Erich defeated World Class American Champion Jimmy Garvin via disqualification.
– World Class Texas Champion David Von Erich defeated Terry Gordy in a two-out-of-three falls match.
– World Class Six-Man Tag team Champions The Fabulous Freebirds (Hayes, Gordy & Roberts) defeated David, Kerry & Kevin Von Erich when Hayes pinned Kerry.

1990 – Clash of the Champions XII took place in Ashville, North Carolina
at the Civic Center, and aired live on TBS. Here are the results of the show, which was nicknamed “Fall Brawl – Mountain Madness”:
– Steve Armstrong & Tracey Smothers defeated The Freebirds (Michael Hayes & Jimmy Garvin).
– Mike Rotundo defeated Buddy Landell.
– The Master Blasters (Iron & Steel) defeated Brad Armstrong & Tim Horner.
– The Nasty Boys defeated Jackie Fulton & Terry Taylor.
– Tommy Rich defeated Bill Irwin.
– LPWA Champion Susan Sexton defeated Bambi.
– Rick & Scott Steiner defeated Tim Hunt & Jeff Warner.
– Stan Hansen defeated Tom Zenk.
– United States Champion Lex Luger defeated Ric Flair via disqualification.
– NWA World Heavyweight Champion Sting defeated The Black Scorpion (Al Perez under a mask). After the match, a second (and much larger) Scorpion appeared on the stage, claiming to be the “real” Scorpion. The angle would drag on until Starrcade in December, when the “Scorpion” would finally be revealed as Ric Flair.

1991 – Clash of the Champions XVI took place in Augusta, Georgia at the Civic Center, and aired live on TBS. Here are the results of the show, which was nicknamed “Fall Brawl”:
– In a dark match, Tommy Rich defeated Joey Maggs.
– El Gigante won a 15-man battle royal.
– Brian Pillman defeated Badstreet.
– United States Champion Sting defeated Johnny B. Badd.
– Ricky Morton defeated Mike Graham.
– The Freebirds (Michael Hayes & Jimmy Garvin) defeated Todd Champion & Firebreaker Chip.
– Ron Simmons defeated The Diamond Stud (Scott Hall).
– Van Hammer defeated Terrance Taylor.
– Television Champion Steve Austin defeated Tom Zenk.
– Arn Anderson & Larry Zbyszko, later nicknamed ‘The Enforcers, defeated Rick Steiner & Bill Kazmier in the finals of a tournament to crown new WCW World Tag Team Champions. Previous champions the Steiner brothers had vacated the belts when Scott was sidelined with an injury.

1997 – Donovan Morgan defeats Michael Modest in Hayward, California to win the All-Pro Wrestling Universal Heavyweight Title.

Related Articles

Latest Articles